| |
|
Subscribe Today!
| Magazine
| Scroll Saw Community
| Reader's Poll | | Testimonials Fantastic magazine, I love it! I wanted to make sure that I didn't miss an issue. I only wish that it came out more often... | | Found the Fox? 
| |
Welcome to Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Message Board, an online scroll saw forum community where you can join thousands of scrollers from around the world discussing all things related to Scrolling. To gain full access to the message board you must register for a free account.
As a registered member you will be able to:
- Browse over 35,000 posts.
- Communicate privately with other scrollers from around the world.
- Post your own photos or view from 2,000 user submitted images.
- Gain access to exclusive scroll saw promotions offered by Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts and Fox Chapel Publishing.
All this and much more is available to you absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!
If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact the Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Support Team.
| Off Topic |
11-14-2008, 09:47 PM
|
#1 | | Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006 Location: Bryan, Oh
Posts: 5
| Don't buy from these guys I notice there was a Google ad on this forum (on right side of screen) from Masterwoodworkingplans.com for free patterns for 9.99, well I fell for it. It's not for patterns it's for the websites that have the patterns and some of the websites don't exist no longer and some of them charge for the patterns. There website stated money back guarantee. So I told them I wanted my money back and they said since I purchased the download I couldn't get a refund because they have no way of telling if I uninstalled program, but if I would have purchased the CD they could refunded my money, doesn't make sense to me, how would they know that I didn't copy the CD. I've bought a lot of stuff on the internet and this is the first time I ever got the shaft, luckily it was only $9.99. Just a heads up, don't buy from these people. Thanks, Duane |
| |
11-14-2008, 09:55 PM
|
#2 | | Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008 Location: Vancouver Island, BC. Canada
Posts: 2,027
| You should PM BobD about this one.
__________________
Alan and Chance.
In our house, if you have to bend over to pet a dog it ain't a real dog! UNLESS its a puppy.
|
| |
11-14-2008, 10:35 PM
|
#3 | | Roaming Scroller/Designer
Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: Hamilton, Texas
Posts: 266
| The exact same thing happened to me. No plans with them. Only links to other site that have plans and, like you said, many of them are NOT free and some don't even exist. NOT good business practice. |
| |
11-14-2008, 10:38 PM
|
#4 | | Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2008 Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Posts: 301
| Hi Duane,
If you used a credit card you should be able to get your credit card company or PayPal to reverse the charge if the site doesn't deliver on their promises.
Good luck!
--Rob |
| |
11-14-2008, 11:53 PM
|
#5 | | World's Greatest Scroller
Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
| Hay guys and gals
I found a website that might be of some help. Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) | Home You can file a complant with them if you fell you were defrauded. Maybe if there are other out there who got the download from this company and you all fill it might do some good. I think if you let Paypal know they will help you get your money back and they can loss they Paypal. It sad that there are people who do this like this. I hope something can be done to shut down their site. 
__________________
Dan : Well I am the worlds greatest scroller at my house. |
| |
11-15-2008, 11:03 AM
|
#6 | | Member
Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Stow,Oh
Posts: 96
| Thanks for the warning, Duane!
Paul |
| |
11-15-2008, 03:20 PM
|
#7 | | Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006 Location: Bryan, Oh
Posts: 5
| Thanks Dan, I filed a complaint today, hopefully they will be able to do get something done.
Duane |
| |
11-15-2008, 03:45 PM
|
#8 | | Member
Join Date: Apr 2008 Location: Berkeley Springs, WV
Posts: 46
| thanks for the heads up.
it does state on their site that you wont get your money back for the download but says nothing about links to sites on the dvd so you should be in good shape with your cc company on getting them to reverse your charge. |
| |
11-17-2008, 04:57 PM
|
#9 | | Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 1,687
| Wow, shame we have people making a buck off things that are not what they seem. Free plans that are only links and stuff made in China, what the heck is this world coming to these days?
Good thing we are still here scrolling and producing true hand made beauty!
Tom |
| |
11-17-2008, 05:05 PM
|
#10 | | Technical Editor
Join Date: Aug 2004 Location: Lebanon, Pa
Posts: 2,593
| Thanks for the heads up, Duane. That was a google ad, so we blocked that ad from showing up at all. If anyone comes across any other ads like that, feel free to PM me. We don't want our members to be taken advantage of!
Bob Duncan
Technical Editor |
| | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25 AM. | |